Embedded Databases

Well, having worked with Progress for just over 5 years, and being a die hard Java/.Net fan, I wanted to do some exploring on embedded databases for myself.

Reason: Progress claim they are the #1 embedded database in the world.

For some reason, I can understand that claim, but to a VERY limited degree. ie: the 4GL used is bound to the actual database, as is the UI. Sure, it can be a quick environment to create a business application, but needing to extend into a more modern age of computing, I think a lot has to be desired from my self about these products (not). (I am sure to be flamed, and I have been getting flamed for almost 4yrs now, about me proudly advocating on about how crap Progress stuff is).

So, my focus now changes. For ever, I have been searching the internet for embedded databases, so I can see where Progress is (nowhere to be found), and have come across some blooooody marvelous finds.

My 1st find is: Firbird And what can I say about it. It’s open source. it’s only about 1.4Mb. It actually works VERY effectively.

My 2nd find was: db4o Man.. When I saw this baby, I was quite impressed, as it too was only 1.4Mb. The maturity of it, and too the ease of use… whoa… it too is open source.

Finally, a work collegue (Brett) showed me Cloudscape (or Derby) This is a Gem for the Java freaks out there… and man… it’s scalable, and so easily portable to DB2. And, yup… this baby is open source too…

the 1st two I mentioned work a real treat with .NET as they have native adaptors. Cloudscape is great, but to be embedded, only works a real charm in the Java world… I am sure some day there will be a native .NET adaptor for it.

Well, These three offerings in my mind I think that these databases are the bees knees when it comes to embedded databases. They possibly could be concurrent databases if one truely chose to, but would one really use an embedded db in a concurrent mode??? Don’t answer, I am sure there a heap of freaks out there that will answer that question in detail…

So, if you are writting a nice stand alone app, and need a pretty darn good, lightweight, easy to use db to suite… look no further than either of these three mentioned here.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment